The Stolen Child

Author(s): Lisa Carey

Fiction

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter.

May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainl∧ from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival.  Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage.

Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever.

Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.

"Steeped in dark Irish mythology, The Stolen Child is a piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written, inventive, and compelling novel."--Ayelet Waldman

 

$24.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
2

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Some books set up house inside your soul. The Stolen Child is one such book. Utterly magnificent -- M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS Startling, bewitching and new; the world of Lisa Carey's The Stolen Child is less a tiny island than a multi-layered universe. Fierce and vivid in its portrayals of community, superstition, sexuality and the human need to believe and to connect, it's a novel which resists sentiment and instead plunges into the visceral quick of myth and legend, while keeping a clear and intelligent eye on the reality of how people are. Carey's women in particular are unforgettable: this is a novel to devour -- Belinda McKeon, author of TENDER A piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written, inventive, and compelling novel -- Ayelet Waldman, author of Love and Treasure Dark, dazzling, quintessentially Irish ... The Stolen Child is completely and utterly ravishing -- Monica Wood, author of ANY BITTER THING St Brigid's Island is the sinister, seductive home to several individualistic, spiky women. These women know that their world is peopled with more than can be seen and they collude with and push against those sources, often with frightening results. The Stolen Child is a gorgeously written book about female bonds and the ferocious pull of motherhood. Compelling, eerie and beautiful -- Nuala O'Connor, author of MISS EMILY The Stolen Child is captivating - savage and tender, with a deep respect for the transcendent truths that lie in human pain. It grabs you, shakes you to your core and keeps you turning those pages. Leaving you reeling, sated and in love with its characters, landscape and utterly believable magic -- Mia Gallagher, author of HELLFIRE

Lisa Carey is the author of The Mermaids Singing, In the Country of the Young, and Love in the Asylum. She lived in Ireland for five years and now resides in Portland, Maine, with her husband and their son.

General Fields

  • : 9781474603805
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : January 2017
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lisa Carey
  • : Paperback
  • : 336